Posted by: edwardasare | July 1, 2013

The NASA experience

It’s not very often that one gets to brag about working for the best Federal Government Agency. NASA was selected as the best place to work in the Federal Government by the Office of Personnel Management’s 2012 Federal Employee Viewpoint Survey. The reason why I am not surprised by this selection is simple: even though NASA is the first Federal Government agency that I have had the opportunity to intern at, I don’t think any other job opportunity can top how tremendous my first four weeks have been. Let’s just put it this way, NASA sets the bar extremely high.  

I am an intern in the Flight Software Systems Branch at NASA’s Langley Research Center in Hampton, Virginia. Don’t be quick to assume that all I do is sit behind a computer screen for eight hours a day, five days a week. Prior to working here I was under the same impression. To cut things short, this is not your everyday desk job. I am beginning my fifth week and I already feel as if I have been here five years too long. The myriad of activities I have been involved with (code testing, product testing, branch meetings, and many more) have been very insightful.

Since I am new to Hampton, people often question why I moved here. The response I receive when I tell them I am an intern at NASA is always the same: “you must be a genius then”. I find it funny because I never put myself on such a high pedestal. However, I have realized that as with sports, when you play on a team with players that are equally as good as you are, or even better, your performance increases. The point I am driving at is that my branch colleagues have had a positive impact on how productive and efficient I am. Everyone in the branch is always ready to contribute to the success of your task whether through advising you on how to go about your task or providing materials that may help you complete it.

A typical day working at NASA in my opinion is fun filled yet challenging with enough tasks to keep you occupied. At the end of the day when the clock hits the 4:29 mark, I rarely find myself thinking about what I am going to do when I get home; instead it’s always thoughts about what the next day holds. Everyday is a different experience that I look forward to and that makes me really enjoy my time here at NASA. 

Responses

  1. Awesome! That sounds like a truly amazing experience!

  2. Edward, I am truly proud of you and find it hard to contain my excitement at your success. Continue to go for it, son, and remember we are all rooting for you! Allez!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

